First World Problems

If you are reading this and you don’t have good bandwidth..be warned, mamma’s gonna download!

I just read a great blog (thanks Stephanie) which quoted this portion of scripture. Heavy stuff for a choir girl to read:

Away with your noisy hymns of praise!
 I will not listen to the music of your harps.
 Instead, I want to see a mighty flood of justice,
 an endless river of righteous living.(Amos 5:23-24)

I was thinking exactly along these lines this week. I am so excited about choir practice – really, if we never sang on Sundays it wouldn’t phase me..i digress. The question is HOW can I come before the One True God in worship when I have not contributed in any significant way to this ‘mighty flood’. The good news is that social justice is actually keeping me awake at night but until desire is action, the question will remain.

We worked on our monthly finances this evening and it is really depressing that there just isn’t enough and we have cut back incredibly, amazingly and totally beyond what I thought possible. Where is the room for giving? We need to free up more income. It’s all terribly frustrating, especially considering that a part-time job on my part could help. Now is not the season though, and I believe that God has been very clear about that.

so.

I’m thinking about a Yard Sale. We have a lot of stuff (not even junk) just really great equipment and home goods that would be cheap to buy and helpful to sell. Possibly we could plan one. Another humbling moment on the horizon I sense, but I just don’t see another way forward in the near future.

rant over.

Leave a Reply

